INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Import movie/tv info....database option missing. ..?  (Read 3501 times)

Wungun

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 200
Import movie/tv info....database option missing. ..?
« on: May 16, 2015, 07:09:16 am »

Correct me if I'm wrong, but wasn't there previously an option for choosing which database to use to look up tv and movie info...? Rotten tomatoes, wiki, etc....
Trying to import CNN Presents: The Sixties as a tv series....
Not finding any online info....
Logged

Hendrik

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10818
Re: Import movie/tv info....database option missing. ..?
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2015, 07:10:21 am »

Thats still there, select a single file, use Get Movie & TV Info, and it'll have a dialog with a list of matches from various databases.
Logged
~ nevcairiel
~ Author of LAV Filters

Wungun

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 200
Re: Import movie/tv info....database option missing. ..?
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2015, 08:23:54 am »

Actually, it doesn't....
I'd send a screen shot of what I see, but it's disabled by the administration thru Tapatalk.
Basically I have the option to use image, use information and that is it!
Logged

mwillems

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 5190
  • "Linux Merit Badge" Recipient
Re: Import movie/tv info....database option missing. ..?
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2015, 08:30:52 am »

Actually, it doesn't....
I'd send a screen shot of what I see, but it's disabled by the administration thru Tapatalk.
Basically I have the option to use image, use information and that is it!

That tends to happen when you either:

1) Entered a search term that has no results or
2) Don't have good internet connectivity

The dialog only shows databases that have results for the search term at the top.  Try using "Get Movie Info" on something you already have good data for.  If you still don't see the databases, you have a connectivity problem.  I currently see all the databases here with a solid match.

It's easy to enter a series title that's slightly off, and that will produce no results and show no databases.  Make sure your series title matches the one in TVDB exactly (e.g. try "The Sixties" not "CNN Presents: The Sixties"

 http://thetvdb.com/?tab=series&id=279044
 
Logged

Wungun

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 200
Re:
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2015, 08:34:43 am »

Tried it on my Cosmos TV series, which is already properly tagged. 
It pulls the data from TVDB properly, yet still no option to change database.  (this was using a single file from the series).
I don't have a connectivity issue.
Logged

Wungun

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 200
Re:
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2015, 08:37:13 am »

I tried your suggestion using just "The sixties"... It's down near the bottom for TVDB and there is no data to display!
Wiki is listing variety things as well in the display window.
And no option for which database either.
Is it spin dependant by chance??
Logged

Hendrik

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10818
Re: Import movie/tv info....database option missing. ..?
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2015, 08:46:27 am »

TV shows only ever supported TheTVDB. Movies also lookup from Rotten Tomatoes and Wikipedia.
Logged
~ nevcairiel
~ Author of LAV Filters

Wungun

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 200
Re:
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2015, 09:17:52 am »

Good to know!
Ultimately, I simply downloaded the poster from TVDB and adjusted all the videos tags the same to group them under the same "series" and used the downloaded poster to represent the folder.
Logged

Hendrik

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10818
Re: Import movie/tv info....database option missing. ..?
« Reply #8 on: May 16, 2015, 09:54:45 am »

Get Movie & TV Info will download info about individual episodes, if you want a Series or Season Poster, you can use Cover Art -> Get From Internet instead.
Logged
~ nevcairiel
~ Author of LAV Filters

glynor

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 19608
Re: Import movie/tv info....database option missing. ..?
« Reply #9 on: May 16, 2015, 01:14:40 pm »

Get Movie & TV Info will download info about individual episodes, if you want a Series or Season Poster, you can use Cover Art -> Get From Internet instead.

It would be nice if the TV Show lookup did this automatically for you.  I know there are lots of options for artwork, and the other dialog is still useful if you want to "override" the choice.  But, it would be good if the Get TV Info function:

* If no existing Season artwork exists, then...
* Silently do Cover Art > Get from Internet, and then pick the top result.
Logged
"Some cultures are defined by their relationship to cheese."

Visit me on the Interweb Thingie: http://glynor.com/

fitbrit

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 4882
Re: Import movie/tv info....database option missing. ..?
« Reply #10 on: May 16, 2015, 04:44:53 pm »

It would be nice if the TV Show lookup did this automatically for you.  I know there are lots of options for artwork, and the other dialog is still useful if you want to "override" the choice.  But, it would be good if the Get TV Info function:

* If no existing Season artwork exists, then...
* Silently do Cover Art > Get from Internet, and then pick the top result.

+1

Also, currently getting episode art and season art are in completely different menu items, which is not exactly a user-friendly situation for new people. "Get from Internet" could be better explained in the context of TV shows.
Logged

Hendrik

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10818
Re: Import movie/tv info....database option missing. ..?
« Reply #11 on: May 16, 2015, 06:10:23 pm »

It would be nice if the TV Show lookup did this automatically for you.  I know there are lots of options for artwork, and the other dialog is still useful if you want to "override" the choice.  But, it would be good if the Get TV Info function:

* If no existing Season artwork exists, then...
* Silently do Cover Art > Get from Internet, and then pick the top result.

It does that, well, not as part of Get TV Info, but during first import, it'll look for cover art automatically.
After initial import, both these tasks are separate actions.
Logged
~ nevcairiel
~ Author of LAV Filters

glynor

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 19608
Re: Import movie/tv info....database option missing. ..?
« Reply #12 on: May 16, 2015, 06:20:04 pm »

It does that, well, not as part of Get TV Info, but during first import, it'll look for cover art automatically.

I don't think it works for Season artwork. I do have Get Cover Art enabled (and have for eons) in Auto-Import's options dialog.

* I do get Series artwork automatically.
* I do not get Season artwork automatically.

I don't have Season cover art for any of my shows, except those where I've gotten it manually.  The only way I've seen to get Season artwork is to:
1. Select one of the episodes of a particular Season of some Series.
2. Right-click > Cover Art > Get from Internet
3. Pick the season-specific artwork choice (second one down in the left-hand panel)
4. Choose one of the results.



That's what I mean. It does seem to do it for Series artwork. It would be nice if it did it for Season Artwork as well.
Logged
"Some cultures are defined by their relationship to cheese."

Visit me on the Interweb Thingie: http://glynor.com/

Hendrik

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10818
Re: Import movie/tv info....database option missing. ..?
« Reply #13 on: May 16, 2015, 06:44:26 pm »

Seems to work for me. Maybe you manually had to tag the season info for some reason?
Logged
~ nevcairiel
~ Author of LAV Filters

glynor

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 19608
Re: Import movie/tv info....database option missing. ..?
« Reply #14 on: May 16, 2015, 07:06:01 pm »

Seems to work for me. Maybe you manually had to tag the season info for some reason?

No. I'm talking all of my stuff. They certainly all come in and auto-tag correctly.

Mine all look like this, unless I fix them as described above:



Is this maybe some kind of crazy miscommunication because the Brits call a [Season] a "Series" sometimes?  My [Series] artwork does auto-fill correctly. I haven't manually set essentially any of these:



I've filled a few specific Series which do have [Season] artwork, but I've done so manually. Everything I have that I haven't filled manually has just plain old vanilla "thumbnail" art, like shown above.

Basically all of the files came in through Auto-Import, recorded by SageTV (which does the naming nicely for Carnac, and they basically always come in right), and as I said, I've had that Get Cover Art option enabled forever (at least for a few major versions of MC).
Logged
"Some cultures are defined by their relationship to cheese."

Visit me on the Interweb Thingie: http://glynor.com/

Hendrik

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10818
Re: Import movie/tv info....database option missing. ..?
« Reply #15 on: May 18, 2015, 08:32:15 am »

Is this maybe some kind of crazy miscommunication because the Brits call a [Season] a "Series" sometimes?

I am no Brit. :p
I did fix one bug, it would not automatically download season artwork if series artwork already existed (because it thought this file needed no further artwork), which means it would only ever download season artwork for the first season, at the same time as the series artwork.

If this is what has been blocking season artwork for you, it should automatically fill up your entire library with the next update.
Logged
~ nevcairiel
~ Author of LAV Filters

glynor

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 19608
Re: Import movie/tv info....database option missing. ..?
« Reply #16 on: May 18, 2015, 09:42:51 am »

If this is what has been blocking season artwork for you, it should automatically fill up your entire library with the next update.

That sounds like it, likely.  Most of my series are long-running ones which would probably all long-since have had Series artwork.  Thanks.

I am no Brit. :p

Ha ha.  I know.  Got your attention, though!  ;)
Logged
"Some cultures are defined by their relationship to cheese."

Visit me on the Interweb Thingie: http://glynor.com/
Pages: [1]   Go Up