INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Start a song at a particular location  (Read 2212 times)

lawman74

• Recent member
Start a song at a particular location
« on: December 13, 2010, 01:39:56 pm »

Hi. I am fairly new to Media Center 15, but I'm figuring it out and I appreciate its power and quality.

I've been working on a "name the song" contest for a party, and I want to start each song in a particular location.

I have created a playlist, and I have figured out that I can accomplish what I want by pausing play (audio / video) and dragging the time indicator to where I want the song to start (such as -2:03), then leaving it. This seems to work well, so that when I go into the playlist and start each song, it will start at the location I left it at.

However, even though the playlist is locked, this only works once -- not a surprise, because I expect that the lock only applies to changing the content and order of the list.

I am wondering two things:

(a) can I get at the start setting (that is obviously stored somewhere) and set it by typing it? If so, how?

(b) can I lock this setting for a given playlist?

I realize that this is a very small and odd sort of use of the player, and I already found a way to do it that works OK, but these extra features (especially the lock) would be a nice extra convenience.

Thanks for your attention to this.

lawman74

Matt

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Start a song at a particular location
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2010, 02:47:00 pm »

Welcome to Interact.

There's no graphical way to do what you want, but it is possible.  You can show the column 'Playback Range' and enter a range by hand.

Edit any file (or select multiple files and edit them all at once) and enter something like:
0:30 (play first 30 seconds)
0:60- (start at 60 seconds, play to end (notice the dash))