INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Use of the Apple Remote with JRiver  (Read 6183 times)

rotho

• Recent member
Use of the Apple Remote with JRiver
« on: November 17, 2011, 06:38:30 am »

I installed Windows 7 on my recent iMac (running OS X Lion) with BootCamp, and then tried JRiver : it works perfectly well !  8)

Then I tried to use the Apple Remote, but it doesn't work as well as glynor described in another thread (http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=66213.msg444422#msg444422).  :(

By default, only the Play/Pause button is working. The Up/Down buttons only command the volume. And the Left/Right buttons don't do the right thing in the Theater View.

I then tried a bit of customization in the "Remote Control" options of JRiver : I selected the "Remote, keyboard, gamepad or other HID" input device, and I started learning the IR Commands. I managed to learn the commands for the "Up", "Left" and "Right" buttons, but for the other buttons, I got the message "This button is already assigned ... Do you want to re-assign this button to the current command". For example, the "Down" button seems to be assigned the same code as the "Up" button by JRiver.

With such a (limited) customization, the "Left" and "Right" buttons work properly in the Theater View, and the "Up" button also (but it also commands the Volume Up, which is quite annoying !  >:(), but I did not manage to get the other buttons to work with JRiver.  :-[

So, has anyone been successfully using the Apple Remote for JRiver on a Mac with BootCamp ?  ?
And, glynor, did you manage to cancel the default behavior of the Up/Down buttons which command the volume Up/Down ?

Perhaps it's an IR driver problem, and the drivers installed by Parallels work better that those installed by BootCamp ?  ?