INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: suitability of Mac Mini for MC21  (Read 4334 times)

shAf

• Citizen of the Universe
suitability of Mac Mini for MC21
« on: September 12, 2015, 03:21:49 pm »

I continue to have problems with my Win8 PC.  As much as I like MC on the Windows platform, I am too old for keeping up with the unreliability of PC hardware (I have an Apple MBA that's twice as old and still running strong).

I am considering the suitability of the Mac Mini and have the following questions for anyone who has similarly migrated ...

(1)  I found this video issue with MC 20 posted earlier this year, and I hope MC/Mac has caught up in this regard.  I play mostly MKV and MP4 video, but still have a few AVIs around
http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=95628.0 ...

(2)  What keyboard and mouse do you use with a Mac Mini?  That is, my impression purchasing of a Mac Mini is that's all you get ... a little aluminum box with connections(?)

(3) Similar to my current setup, hopefully I'll be able to
  • (a) connect to my Yamaha AVR via HDMI and still use a Thunder port (and adapter) to connect to a DVI monitor(?)
  • (b) connect to 2 USB3 external drives
  • (c) stream music to my iPhone with JRemote
  • (d) any other considerations?

TIA  :)
cheerios from the Avalon Peninsula, Newfoundland

glynor

• MC Beta Team
Re: suitability of Mac Mini for MC21
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2015, 05:42:41 pm »

I don't like the current Mini's much, which is too bad as the Ivy Bridge ones were fantastic.

Don't get one with a spinning disk. OSX really, really wants to be on an SSD anymore, and performs terribly on spinning disks anymore.
"Some cultures are defined by their relationship to cheese."

Visit me on the Interweb Thingie: http://glynor.com/

blgentry

« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2015, 06:03:19 pm »