INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Image quality - new to JRiver  (Read 4892 times)

DGV

Image quality - new to JRiver
« on: October 02, 2015, 04:57:58 am »

Hi,

Looking to replace windows media centre which I use for music and photographic collection on a media PC attached to Panasonic TV.

Music sounds great, but struggling with quality of images displayed. They all have close horizontal lines all over them, which show up very clearly in blocks of solid colour (often the sky in landscapes).

Generally, images look fine on this TV from this PC and video card - have only experienced the problem with JRiver MC.

Thanks for any help you can give,

David

ErikN

• Junior Woodchuck
Re: Image quality - new to JRiver
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2015, 11:26:36 am »

I'm fairly new to MC but figure asking a few questions may help tease out useful details. I play slide shows a lot through MC onto our TV. The goal is to see what might be different about your setup.

- Do you see this on all images but it's more noticeable in some? Or, is it only really hi-res images? low-res? 
- Does it happen in theater mode only or can you see it in a detached MC window (ctrl-6 I think)? What if you resize the detached window, do the lines remain?

DGV

« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2015, 12:19:56 pm »

Hi ErikN,

Thanks for your help. I have started to learn that there is a lot to learn!

I had been watching slideshows of albums in Theater view. Your questions made me look deeper.

In one folder I have a mix of different sizes. The 5184*3456 are all fine. My problems are with the 4000*3000. In slideshow of these, I always see the horizontal lines, but when I view them in detached view they look fine, even when I increase the size of the panel. Then, when I maximise them, they look fine for two or three seconds, then suddenly the lines appear. Does this help anyone?

Thanks again,