INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: JRemote on two independent music servers  (Read 3382 times)

edwardcr

JRemote on two independent music servers
« on: October 07, 2015, 08:05:58 am »

I'm still using the trial version of JRiver MC21, and I'm considering downloading JRemote. So obviously I'm very new to all this!

My home theatre setup, when it's completed, will consist of two completely independent computers - one PC for my video files and a second silent PC just for audio, which will be set up specifically to give me the best audio performance. Both will be running Windows 7 for the foreseeable future, however I'll probably upgrade to Win 10 once it's settled down somewhat.

They will both be connected into the same DAC, and into my hifi system. They will also be sitting together in my audio cabinet.

My question is this - using JRemote on my IPad, will I be able to control the two computers absolutely independently from the single version of JRemote? If I can't do this I'll probably have to forget using the JRiver / JRemote combination and find another solution.

There are two possible scenarios - one where I will keep both computers running permanently, and use each one as required, and a second one, depending on the potential noise level from the video computer, where I will simply switch each computer on as required.

I've searched through some of the posts in this thread, but as a complete newbie it's left me somewhat confused! So long as I can get an answer to this, however, I think I'll be able to work my way through everything else myself with the assistance of this forum.
Thanks

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: JRemote on two independent music servers
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2015, 08:20:07 am »

Welcome to the forum.   You can use JRemote to connect to multiple computers and control them.