INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: can't get tv to work...  (Read 13396 times)

boomboom

• Recent member
can't get tv to work...
« on: October 14, 2015, 01:42:49 am »

First the rant.... gave up on kodi/xbmc, media portal was better, but expected JRiver to work like WMC. I've been using WMC for last 10 years and never spent more than few minutes setting it up.

I installed JRIVER20, and been pretty frustrated setting up TV. I've not tried anything else, altho it setting up and importing files automatically was surprising and very annoying.

Going to TV and starting the setup seems to find my HVR-2250 fine with both tuners. It defaults to ATSC, but the scan doesn't find anything. After many attempts, I tried chaning it to QAM, I dont' really know the difference, and I really shouldn't have to, but then in setup it changes it back to ATSC, but finds the channels this time. However, when trying to watch, I get the error "A device attached to the system is not functioning".

Why is that WMC can get it done so painlessly, but it's quite a struggle and time waste with all other media centers? Given JRiver is paid product, frankly, I had high expectations.

thanks
m

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: can't get tv to work...
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2015, 06:52:51 am »

Please use MC21 for TV.  It's on the download page.

astromo

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2015, 09:48:52 pm »

Where are you?

If you're in the U.S., MC21 addresses EPG glitches resulting from delivery changes caused by 3rd party service providers. MC20 has not been updated to suit, which is why Jim advises using 21.

If you're somewhere outside the U.S., you might need some focused advice.