INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Media Centre Hangs on Starting  (Read 4684 times)

Richard Martin

• World Citizen
Media Centre Hangs on Starting
« on: October 04, 2015, 11:11:51 am »

I have been using Media Center for a few years now and have rarely had problems. That has changed today.
I am using the latest version of Media Centre on Windows 10.  When I started it today it appeared to be OK but as soon as I click on anything it hangs.
This results in a Windows "application not responding" message.  I have tried waiting but it hasn't recovered.
I have to use Task Manager to end the task to close it.
I have tried uninstalling and re-installing but that didn't make any difference
I have tried rebooting the PC, that didn't make any difference
I can't click anywhere in Media Center without this happening, so I can't enable logging or check/change any settings.
If I just open Media Center and don't touch it I still get the application not responding message after a couple of minutes.
I can't see anything in the Windows Event Viewer that gives any clues.

Has anyone got any ideas on how to resolve this?
Richard

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Media Centre Hangs on Starting
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2015, 12:09:25 pm »

It could be an antivirus program problem.

Richard Martin

• World Citizen
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2015, 01:11:17 pm »

Disabling my AV made no difference.
I 've just downloaded and installed 20.0.132.  That is working fine.
Any more ideas?

JimH

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2015, 02:41:27 pm »

Firewall?

If it is the AV, disabling it may not be enough. Uninstaller it to test.

Richard Martin

• World Citizen
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2015, 03:04:55 pm »

It's Windows Defender can you uninstall that or is it part of Windows now?