INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: import iTunes playlist to MC21  (Read 2854 times)

mbw817

import iTunes playlist to MC21
« on: October 24, 2015, 10:25:15 am »

I'm a MC21 newbie. I have successfully imported my iTunes music library. When I did so, I chose "audio" and "playlists" to import. The audio files are certainly there. What I want to do is choose my selections using the same playlist I have in iTunes. That's all I want or need to see when I view my files anywhere (either in "Audio" or "Playlists"). I have explored this forum and there is a lot of info on exporting playlists. But I cannot figure out how to import my iTunes playlist so I can see it, and make my selections from it.

Explicit instructions would be most appreciated since I am hardly a technophile. Thanks in advance
Marty

blgentry

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: import iTunes playlist to MC21
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2015, 12:12:43 pm »

I'm not at all familiar with the itunes import process.  But I can give you some general info.

First, all playlists that you import should end up in the Imported Playlists group.  Look under Playlists, it's a few down from the top.  Your itunes playlists *might* be there.

You can transfer playlists from itunes, one at a time, by exporting them from itunes, and then importing the files that itunes exported.  If you have a lot of playlists, this will be tedious.  If you've only got 4 or 5 that are important, it should be pretty easy to do.

For itunes smartlists (or whatever they are called), you will want to recreate these in MC.  I think if you export a smartlist in itunes, it just gives you the files that match, but NOT the definition.  Which is a waste of your time, since you probably want the list to auto update every time something in your library changes to match your smartlist.