INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Suggestions for DSP  (Read 948 times)

Christian Thomas

Suggestions for DSP
« on: November 08, 2015, 02:35:17 pm »

Hi all,

I'm a loudspeaker designer, among other things, and I have a couple of simple suggestions for how to improve the facilities on the DSP.  The Linkwitz transform is great to have but its usefulness could be extended quite a bit - and quite easily.

As it stands one can exchange one second order high pass filter with another at a, presumably, lower frequency.  You can also set the Q of your new high pass.  But what you can't do is tailor a fourth order high pass.  Or, at least not a particularly accurate one.  The additional high pass section that you can add doesn't specify what Q it has.  Is it a 2nd order Butterworth, with a Q of 0.707.  In some respects this may be OK by itself, but it doesn't allow one to construct any of the standard 4th Order filter alignments.  For instance, if one wanted to construct a 4th Order Butterworth high pass one would need a Q of 0.54 on one section and a Q of 1.31 on the other.  With Bessels and other alignments the picture becomes more complicated, with the frequencies of the two sections being different.

The only technically correct filters than one can currently do at the low frequency end are third Orders; this being done by setting your output Q from the Linkwitz transform and adding a first order high pass.  (Incidentally the labeling of the fields in the Linkwitz transform could usefully be improved to show explicitly which are the input and output parameters.)