INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: JRiver mis-identifies CDs when ripping  (Read 6822 times)

Allen Brier

• Recent member
JRiver mis-identifies CDs when ripping
« on: November 30, 2015, 02:07:40 pm »

I am new to JRiver. However, I have been ripping my entire library of CDs (over 1000) to FLACs mostly without a problem. However, I have run into a problem where JRiver mis-identifies some CDs as the same or different artists and rips songs into existing folders. JRiver does not overwrite the existing file, but creates a new file with a (1) or (2) or (3) suffix. For example, I ripped a Bob James CD and no problem. When I went to rip a second Bob James CD, JRiver mis-identified it as the first one, and created files with existing names, with the added suffix (1), etc. This has also occurred with one artist's CD writing into the folder of another artist's folder.

What the heck is going on and how to I "reset" JRiver to read the proper information from the CDs?

mwillems

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • "Linux Merit Badge" Recipient
Re: JRiver mis-identifies CDs when ripping
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2015, 06:11:36 pm »

I am new to JRiver. However, I have been ripping my entire library of CDs (over 1000) to FLACs mostly without a problem. However, I have run into a problem where JRiver mis-identifies some CDs as the same or different artists and rips songs into existing folders. JRiver does not overwrite the existing file, but creates a new file with a (1) or (2) or (3) suffix. For example, I ripped a Bob James CD and no problem. When I went to rip a second Bob James CD, JRiver mis-identified it as the first one, and created files with existing names, with the added suffix (1), etc. This has also occurred with one artist's CD writing into the folder of another artist's folder.