INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: how set up library to match file system tree with genre/subgenre/etc  (Read 3003 times)

vman

• Recent member

Newbie here. I hope to set up my library hierarchically to mirror the tree structure of music that resides a folder on my laptop. The first level down are genre folders, the second level is usually subgenre folders, the third level is a folder labeled by composer or performer. For example:
Music/Jazz/female voice/melody gardot/albums/tracks
Music/Jazz/female voice/billie holiday/albums/tracks
Music/Classical/ Saint-Saëns/Symphony No. 3 [Munch]/tracks

I speculate it would be easiest if I could get JRiver to stop creating genre folders on its own and instead let me create my own (including subgenres) to match. It would be great is this could be done sort of automatically, deriving it from the tree of my files. But maybe that’s the hard way. Maybe I can tweak my file tree to help JRiver make the right translation into the library?

I saw an old 2008 post where I think rick.ca was explaining how to do something like that using customize view – it was pretty detailed - but his description relied strongly on screenshots now missing (and this was no doubt many versions ago). In case anyone wants to review that thread it is at http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=49347.msg337868#msg337868  Gappie commented on it saying “very good post rick”.

So far when importing things to JRiver, it seems to decide for me and creates/adds new genres as it sees the need, and then assigns imported albums to those genres, sometimes not the genre I would use.  It seems to not create subgenres at all. (fyi, CDs were ripped to flac by dbpoweramp before I got JRiver)