INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: JRiver -> hugo TT Sounding odd  (Read 3937 times)

simp2005

• Recent member
JRiver -> hugo TT Sounding odd
« on: December 23, 2015, 06:00:28 am »

HI
Its my first time using the jriver software. I have it on my macbook going to the Hugo tt HD input. I have noticed that the mid frequencies sound very thin and low. Listened to some Police tracks just now and the vocals sound very low level and low in the mox. Any ideas what is causing this? I have the equalizer setting set to "Flat" and would have thoughtthis should be okay as the pre amp i go into from the dac does not have any tone controls on it. When i play my micromega cd transport into the Hugo TT via optical it sounds much better, Is there something i am doing wrong?

blgentry

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: JRiver -> hugo TT Sounding odd
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2015, 08:49:17 am »

I would check a few things:

DSP Settings:
A.  Turn off everything except for Output Format.
B.  Look at the Output Format > Sample Rate section.  Make sure you are mapping input rates to output rates correctly for your DAC.  I think the default might be down sampling some rates.  Set up the mapping for the rates your DAC can handle.
C.  In Output format > Output Encoding make sure it's set to NONE.  Output Format > Channels, make sure this is set to your true number of channels:  Set it to 2 if you have only 2 speakers or headphones.
D.  Check the Volume slider at the upper left corner and make sure it's maxed out.  100% is normally the absolute best sound quality.

That's all I can think of for now.  Good luck!

Brian.

AndyU

• Galactic Citizen
« Reply #2 on: December 24, 2015, 10:33:50 am »