INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Stereo Imaging  (Read 3951 times)

mpoff

Stereo Imaging
« on: January 30, 2016, 01:19:49 pm »

I am new to computer audio and recently began using MC21. I've noticed that the stereo imaging of my ripped files are more centered when comparing the cd on a standard cd player. Even streaming Pandora I notice better left right separation. I have tried both flac and wav rips. Wasabi out to a Schiit Bifrost  by way of USB. From the Bifrost I go to a stereo receiver. I am not using any DSP output settings. Has anyone else noticed this? Am I missing something in the settings? Thanks for any help.

Arindelle

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Stereo Imaging
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2016, 02:05:09 pm »

Provided you have configured JRiver and Windows correctly, this is very surprising to me.

There will be no difference between wav and flac rips (or should I say "should not be" to be PC and not stir up any wav fanatics here) .... there could be a difference between the dacs as I presume you are using the DAC in your CD player ... I know the bifrost; it is a very good, but precise DAC ... and you find you that it is outputs "smaller soundstage"/separation though? .. I'd say perception bias more than anything.  Or your cd player is throwing in some dsp  "magic" of its own. Can you compare the output using the same DAC?

Although I've tested the Bifrost, only on SPDIF, never on USB -- Im assuming you have loaded their drivers from their site and followed their instructions right?