INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Best MP3 Encoder  (Read 5525 times)

Archis

• Recent member
  • nothing more to say...
Best MP3 Encoder
« on: February 05, 2003, 02:03:46 am »

I am new to all of this and was wondering what people thought the best MP3 enocoder for sound quality is?  I know there is a trade off between quality, speed and size, but I am mainly concerned with quality.  Any suggestions for encoders?

Harry_The_Hipster

Re: Best MP3 Encoder
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2003, 03:35:00 am »

Lame for mp3. MJ/MC offers either a plug-in, or the ability to utilize an external encoder with specific settings entereed by the user.

Search through the forum for extensive discussions of proper settings for various bitrates, or go tohttp://www.hydrogenaudio.org.

HTH

Listening to: 'Perception' from 'Perception' by 'Connie Crothers' on Media Center 9.0

Archis

• Recent member
  • nothing more to say...
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2003, 04:17:47 pm »

Thanks HTH, I will take a lood at the Lame encoder.

MachineHead

« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2003, 04:51:52 pm »

MJ uses LAME. It's the one available on the plugins page.

nila

« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2003, 02:56:39 pm »

Arch - LAME is the only option.

Your real choice comes more with what encoder settings to use.

CBR is the old method with people using 128 for the music as it gave near CD quality. These days however, with increased hard drive capacity, 192 has become pretty much the norm as you cant tell the difference between it and CD's unless you have VERY good equipment as WELL AS VERY GOOD ears.

CBR is nice because you can see exactly what bitrate has been used for the songs so gives as easy rough indication of quality.