INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Monopolizing Audio output  (Read 2176 times)

jeffporcaro

• Recent member
Monopolizing Audio output
« on: May 12, 2016, 06:43:05 pm »

I'm a newbie - I hope this isn't old territory.

When I have Media Center open, it monopolizes the bus to the headphone port (where I have my auxiliary speakers plugged in). If I run any other program that uses audio (such as VLC, or iTunes, you name it) - they are forced to route the audio to another output (in my case, a secondary monitor connected via DisplayPort). There is no way to re-route anything else to the headphone port, until I close Media Center, when everything goes back to normal.

Thank you!

blgentry

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Monopolizing Audio output
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2016, 06:59:32 pm »

You probably have "Exclusive Access" enabled.  I think it's on by default.  To turn it off:

Tools > Options > Audio > Audio Device > Device Settings > Open Device with exclusive access > (uncheck)

Then quit MC and restart it.  Now all applications on your Mac can talk to the audio device, even when MC is using it.

Brian.

RoderickGI

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2016, 10:06:57 pm »

Does that work well on a Mac, without adverse consequences?

I know on a Windows PC turning off Exclusive Access so that Windows sounds or other applications can play sounds means that Windows will mix the sounds for playback, and usually apply any DSP and other settings defined in windows for that playback device.

In Windows that could mean that the Sample Rate, Bit Depth, and format are changed by Windows. Not good. All of a sudden MC could start sounding bad, and it isn't MC's fault. It is Windows! (Using Direct Sound, I believe.)