INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Hide Duplicates?  (Read 3737 times)

dilburt

Hide Duplicates?
« on: July 04, 2016, 02:02:34 am »

I'm new to JRiver and have been trying to figure out a way to hide semi-duplicate tracks which are being created as I upgrade my music library from mp3 to hi-res flac formats. To make things worse, JRiver sorts albums as track1.flac, track1.mp3, track2.flac, track2.mp3 by default which makes it difficult to select songs. I've tried "deleting" files from the library using the top option (which is essentially hiding) except the tracks always come back (perhaps when the program is updated). If anyone knows how to make this option work permanently without actually deleting the files it would be a fall-back solution for me. I have a lot of rare files and still use some of the lower res formats so physical deletion isn't an option right now.

I've been trying to create a filter that hides all lower resolution copies of tracks of the same artist-album when a flac version is present. This should be fairly simple since I'm not using DSD, don't have multiple flac resolutions and don't care about resolution grades between mp3, mp4, aac, etc. However, I can't find a "visibility" or hide function and there doesn't appear to be any File Type conditionals available.

I would appreciate any help regarding this.

Thanks,

D

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Hide Duplicates?
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2016, 06:53:28 am »

In any view, a search for FLAC or for MP3 will show only that file type.

blgentry

« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2016, 08:17:37 am »

I'm new to JRiver and have been trying to figure out a way to hide semi-duplicate tracks which are being created as I upgrade my music library from mp3 to hi-res flac formats.