INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Grouping/Folders needed for movie lists  (Read 5167 times)

jsbenson

• Recent member
Grouping/Folders needed for movie lists
« on: August 09, 2016, 12:38:18 pm »

Hey everyone.  I've had MC for a few months now and love it.

In Theater View (or any view that lists movies) I would find it so helpful if there was a way to group movies together, like all the Star Wars movies for example, and have a single "folder" entry in the list of movies called "Star Wars".  Basically allowing folders on the list views.  This would really help with scaling down the number of movies to navigate through as well as making it look more organized.  Think of very popular movies that have had numerous sequels, like Star Wars, Harry Potter, LOTR/The Hobbit, etc...I would love a single folder entry for these.

As a programmer I could see giving the user the ability to create a folder, and then use a tag on the movies with a drop down listing the created folders.  In lists, any movie who's "folder" tag is not null, do not show the movie in the main list.

An indicator for folders would be helpful in distinguishing between a movie and a folder.

Any chance for this?

RD James

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Grouping/Folders needed for movie lists
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2016, 12:57:25 am »

You can do this and more by customizing Theater View.
My general film view is set up using two expressions.

The first view is an expression view that groups by: TVInfo(SeriesDisplay)
The second view groups with the expression: FormatDate([Date,0],yyyyMMdd) [Name] and displays: [Name]

Then I use the Series tag to assign groups such as James Bond, Star Wars, Lord of the Rings etc.

CountryBumkin

« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2016, 09:58:04 am »