INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: minimum 60% cpu load for jriver 22 on linux mint 7.3  (Read 3247 times)

shimrod

• Recent member
minimum 60% cpu load for jriver 22 on linux mint 7.3
« on: August 22, 2016, 07:14:12 pm »

I've installed JR MC22 on an AMD laptop with 8 GB ram and a SSD drive. While playing music (not importing files) JRiver is using a minimum of 60% cpu, usually 68 to 74%. Two other processes (gvfsd-smb and gvsfd-fuse) are using 16 to 20% CPU each. Music files are stored on two NAS and transferred wirelessly. The gvfsd processes seem to have something to do with the file transfer.

I'd always heard linux required fewer hardware resources than Windows but that's not my experience so far. I was running windows 7/JR MC22 on the same machine and didn't have these resource issues.

I'm just getting started in linux. Is what I'm seeing typical for linux/JR and if not, what can I do to fix this? Thanks

blgentry

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: minimum 60% cpu load for jriver 22 on linux mint 7.3
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2016, 08:47:02 pm »

I have a funny feeling those daemon processes are the source of the problem.  Here's a thread I found with a similar sounding problem:

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=207773

Brian.

bob

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2016, 12:33:26 pm »

If you are using auto-import on those directories MC will try to use the inotify system for watches.
If they are mounted as CIFS though MC will not try to establish watch handles.

rockabillybass

• Recent member
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2016, 12:42:36 pm »

There is a well documented bug related to gvfsd-smb-browse.

https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=1303300