INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MC 22.0.21 no audio after Windows 10 "upgrade"  (Read 2873 times)

uilleann

MC 22.0.21 no audio after Windows 10 "upgrade"
« on: September 04, 2016, 01:43:07 pm »

Hi all,

About a month ago, I did the "upgrade" Microsoft kept screaming about to windows 10 from 8.1.  Prior to this, my MC worked fine.  However, after Windows did whatever it did to the system, I no longer have consistent sound.  I'm no programmer, and have no understanding of what goes on behind the scenes apart from trying to correct user settings in both MC and Windows to play nice together.  From what I can tell, it appears that MC is playing fine, but there is a disconnect between the source and the speakers.

I'll try to include the most pertinent information about the system in use:  Windows 10 Home on an ASUS M32AD-B05 PC.  NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 handles A/V.  I have also used an Audioquest Dragonfly DAC in a USB slot in the back to try and bypass the soundcard's built in DAC (due to an annoying hum I would get using the stock card).  This is feeding into a Polk Audio Omni A1 amplifier.  Normally, I was able to connect wirelessly through our network via WiFi before the Windows takeover.  Sometimes, I found that the wired connection was better (no latency/lag) for video sources to keep audio and video properly synced.  Now, there is a new video option recently added to the DTS PlayFi system (current build is: 1.4.0.1926) that the Polk amp uses.