INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: JRemote feature requests :)  (Read 2498 times)

liquidsmoke

• Recent member
JRemote feature requests :)
« on: October 11, 2016, 02:50:57 pm »

Hi,
I have been using iOS JRemote for a few years and it's a brilliant app. Ive been using it to control my mac mini renderer which then outputs audio to a USB DAC and to my HiFi. It was working well, until I started looking into optical vs USB connections to the DAC after I upgraded to a Chord 2Qute DAC. Anyway, it turns out that the best most high quality sound is when I use my iPhone or iPad or iPod directly connected to my USB DAC. It's something to do with there being almost zero high frequency EMI with that method vs the mac mini. So it goes like:
iPhone > Camera Connection kit with USB and linear psu charger, plus apple ethernet adapter > 2Qute DAC USB input

Now the problem is I have become accustomed to a brilliant JRemote UI and being able to control the playlist and whats playing with volume control from anywhere in the house. Previously I was using JRemote to control the mac mini JRiver renderer. However now I have 2 problems when trying to use an iOS device as the renderer:

1. JRemote cannot for some reason control the volume of the music when connected directly to the USB DAC.
2. JRemote cannot control another JRemote.

The best outcome for me would be to enable a remote control of a JRemote instance; so JRemote becomes a DLNA/uPNP renderer? That would be really excellent.