INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Java and coding resources for beginners  (Read 3353 times)

drmimosa

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Java and coding resources for beginners
« on: October 17, 2016, 10:48:26 am »

Bgentry, just downloaded your killer app from the previous thread and it got me thinking!

I'm interested in building a simple Android app to send custom MCWS commands to a server using buttons. I'm thinking JRemote/gizmo but much simpler, just 4-8 customizable Android buttons, easy to use in the car to send commands to a Rasp Pi server.

I'm a music teacher by profession, so I'm not at all familiar with coding languages. I know BASIC from when I was a kid, can use the Windows and Linux command lines, have flashed Android Roms to phones, and can write batch files in Windows. So I can get around computers, but never coded for computers.

What's the best way to learn how to build an Android app? Do you have a top five set of resources to recommend, with the end goal of my five button Android/Java MCWS app in mind?

In particular, would love to see examples of syntax explained. Lots of 'X means Y' and 'then indent a line five spaces' etc.

Most tutorials seem laden with jargon and vocab. For example, the difference between coding and compiling often isn't clearly explained. I often chase vocab for a while, build a "hello world program," then put 'real' coding back on my some day maybe list.

Thanks for any input you might have!

blgentry

Re: Java and coding resources for beginners
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2016, 11:33:17 am »

Some various thoughts on this topic: