INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What does "Unreliable data after 16 re-read attempts" mean?  (Read 1875 times)

Antognini

• Junior Woodchuck
What does "Unreliable data after 16 re-read attempts" mean?
« on: January 14, 2017, 03:26:59 pm »

I'm pretty new to JRiver (but already using it a lot). Sometimes in ripping an audio CD, I get something like:

Track 11: Non-secure rip, 1% of sectors needed re-reading and 1% of sectors could not be verified.  [Cantata Bwv 35 "Geist Und Seele Wird Verwirret" (2)]
      00:01:35  Unreliable data after 16 re-read attempts
      00:01:58  Unreliable data after 16 re-read attempts
      00:02:22  Unreliable data after 16 re-read attempts

What does that mean? Are the data for the specified track simply lost, or are some data, perhaps accurate and perhaps not, recorded in the saved file?

Setup:  JRiver Media Center 22.0.54 (still on 30 day trial); Windows 10 x64; CD player is an old (5 years) HP GH80N DVD read/write drive. I'm ripping in secure mode, to .flac output files.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: What does "Unreliable data after 16 re-read attempts" mean?
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2017, 04:09:13 pm »

It means that there was trouble reading certain spots and a few bytes in the file may be bad.  You may not be able to hear anything wrong though.

Hendrik

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: What does "Unreliable data after 16 re-read attempts" mean?
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2017, 04:15:42 pm »

Unreliable data meant that MC read it 16 times and it was inconsistent throughout the 16 tries (ie. different data was read most of the tries), which is usually a sign of the disc being slightly damaged or dirty.