INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How Import Music & Playlist from iTunes on a Mac to My Windows 7 Running JRiver?  (Read 3620 times)

sortiarius

• Recent member

I'm new to JRiver; sorry if this is elementary:

How can I import a playlist (metadata & songs) that resides on a friend's Mac machine (running only iTunes) into my distinct machine running Windows 7 with JRiver 22 recently installed?

Thank you.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?

Doctor Who could do it if your friend had MC running.

https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=97994.0

sortiarius

• Recent member

Thanks for the very quick reply. I'll study the Dr. Who link and see how far I can get on my own before troubling you with more questions.
Meanwhile: wondering if the fact the I also have iTunes on my machine (used only for iPhone backup) would facilitate the playlist transfer between machines/platforms ... ?
Thanks again.

blgentry

Doctor Who can't import song files.  Only playlist metadata.  Unless I've misunderstood.  Doctor Who would be like a P2P sharing network if it could import song files.

Brian.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Where did I put my teeth?

If you had the audio tracks in your library, Doctor Who would find them.

sortiarius

• Recent member

Thank you Brian and Jim.

Here's where I've arrived at this point:

sortiarius

• Recent member

Thank you Brian and Jim.

Here's where I've arrived at this point:
- I've ripped CDs of my friend's music (burned for me by him) and have them on my machine.
- I ripped in AIFF format and have created an MC Playlist of all 108 tracks.
- They all "play" but are unidentified other then as "Track 01" ...
- I had my friend "export playlist" from his iTunes (on his Mac) into both XML and M3U files and email them to me; they're on my desktop now.