INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MC22 - DSD over PCM (DoP) issues  (Read 6927 times)

cl_rwong

• Recent member
MC22 - DSD over PCM (DoP) issues
« on: January 25, 2017, 09:21:34 am »

I am new to the software (trialling this for development purposes), using version MC22.0.54 (just updated to 22.0.59) with an Amanero COMBO384 USB to I2S DSD Converter module.
Analyzing the output of the Amanero initially using a scope and test equipment (AP2700), but will be applying to DAC at later date.

I am attempting to output DoP (x1) by using MC22 to convert either an MP3 or .DSF on the fly, however the output is not as I would expect (expecting a I2S format playing at 176.4kHz or 192kHz for the given DSD64 file). I appear to see native DSD on the output of the Amanero module. On occasions when I have managed to get a 176.4kHz I2S output having played a .DSF file, it appears that this has been a cobversion to 176.4kHz PCM (output decoded as standard PCM and it sounds normal).

Is this option available during the trial period (still have about 15 days of the trial period) or is it only available on the paid for version.

I have installed various ASIO drivers (foo_dsd_asio, COMBO384_ASIO, Amanero USB Driver (WASPI)).

Matt

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: MC22 - DSD over PCM (DoP) issues
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2017, 10:33:08 am »

If you play using Options > Audio > Bitstreaming > DSD, then the files will get delivered in their native format if they're DSD.

It's a little strange, but ASIO uses a native DSD format.  If your ASIO driver isn't supporting that nicely, switch to WASAPI and we'll deliver DoP.

You can convert all your files to DSD in DSP Studio > Output Format > Output Encoding.
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

JohnT

« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2017, 10:55:12 am »