INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to get 'Album Thumbnail' list style in manual Playlists ?  (Read 4173 times)

Daudio

• Recent member

I'm new to JRiver (Mac), but have used iTunes heavily for the last 6 years. Before I retired I built business apps from db based systems, so I didn't just get off the boat.

This implementation of JRiver is for a friends audiophile music server, that I'm setting up for him. JRiver was chosen for its DLNA support, for his PS Audio Bridge II card (an issue to deal with later :) )

While building his music library, I have created a Group of playlists, both Smart and 'manual' (?). In the smart playlists, after I define the rules and get data, I finally figured out (tiny little down arrow hiding out next to the Tab text) how to group the tracks into albums, via the "Album Thumbnail".

But I do not see the same options in the manual (ordinary/normal/ ??) type Playlist  !  What is wrong here ?? Obviously one has similar needs to group tracks in both types of playlists, and the same underlying code is there to do the job, so what am I missing ?

Thanks,
Dave

blgentry

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: How to get 'Album Thumbnail' list style in manual Playlists ?
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2017, 03:28:45 pm »

I understand what you're asking for.  I'm not 100% sure how you (or your friend/client) are intending to use these lists.  For example, when you do this "show as Album Thumbnails" thing, all songs are grouped under the one album cover and you can't access the individual songs at all.  For those smart lists, you might enjoy the Group By > Album setting better.  Or not; as I said I'm not sure how you are intending to use this.