INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MC installed version/build number in display area  (Read 2839 times)

A.K.

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 71
MC installed version/build number in display area
« on: July 19, 2017, 10:04:17 am »

Is it possible to view installed MC version number (example: "Media Center 23.0.21") in display area instead of just plain "JRiver Media Center 23"?
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 41949
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: MC installed version/build number in display area
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2017, 10:07:10 am »

Look at the [App Version] variable.

Something like this makes it show the full version:
RemoveRight([App Name], 2)[App Version]
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

A.K.

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 71
Re: MC installed version/build number in display area
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2017, 10:35:47 am »

Thanks! Now it looks just like I want  :D
Logged

Mans

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 418
Re: MC installed version/build number in display area
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2017, 03:49:30 pm »

Exactly -> Perfect !
+1.
Logged

marko

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8943
Re: MC installed version/build number in display area
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2017, 11:51:41 pm »

[App Name] [App Version], and the one I use... mc.version

These only work in the display caption.
I didn't know about [App Name] and [App Version] (although I think a default MC uses [App Name]?) and I've no idea how I know about mc.version.

Are there any other little easter eggs we can deploy in there? I don't have anything specific in mind, mc.version and the current date/time seems to be enough for me... just curious, is all :)

Spike1000

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 641
Re: MC installed version/build number in display area
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2017, 07:18:14 am »

I use this customisation. Is that the sort of thing you mean?

Code: [Select]
[Elapsed Time] // [Total Time] // [Remaining Time] - [Bit Depth] bit-[Sample Rate] kHz-[Bitrate (labeled)]-[Channels] Channel-[File Type] - [PN Position] of [PN Tracks]  [Zone]
Spike

Awesome Donkey

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 7380
  • The color of Spring...
Re: MC installed version/build number in display area
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2017, 09:25:19 am »

Since we're all sharing, here's mine;

Code: [Select]
[Elapsed Time] // [Total Time] // [Remaining Time]   FixCase([Compression], 3)   [Bit Depth]-Bit // [Sample Rate] kHz   [Genre]   [Year]   DR[Dynamic Range (DR)]   [File Size]   Disc [Disc #] of [Total Discs]   Track [Track #] of [Total Tracks]
It works pretty good, except for DSD tracks (due to [Bit Depth]-Bit // [Sample Rate] kHz appearing different for DSD - wish I could substitute those with DSD variables when playing DSD).
Logged
I don't work for JRiver... I help keep the forums safe from Viagra and other sources of sketchy pharmaceuticals.

Windows 11 2023 Update (23H2) 64-bit + Ubuntu 24.04 LTS Noble Numbat 64-bit | Windows 11 2023 Update (23H2) 64-bit (Intel N305 Fanless NUC 16GB RAM/256GB NVMe SSD)
JRiver Media Center 32 (Windows + Linux) | Topping D50s DAC | Edifier R2000DB Bookshelf Speakers

marko

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8943
Re: MC installed version/build number in display area
« Reply #7 on: July 20, 2017, 10:05:48 am »

I don't use "Alternative" mode displays. Mine are still a work in (very slow) progress, I tinker with it every so often, with the idea being to use expressions to change the display automatically based on media type being played...

Play (Title):
Code: [Select]
'[name]'if(isempty([artist]),,/ by '[artist]')if(isempty([album]),,/ from the album '[album]')if(isempty([comment]),,/ /([comment]/))  :::  formatdate(now(),dddd dd//MM//yyyy)  formatdate(now(),HH:mm)
Play (Status):
Code: [Select]
ifelse(
   isequal([media type],image,1),[filename (name)] /([file size]/) ::: [dimensions] ::: [date] ::: rated [Score]//5 Picture [PN Position] of [PN Tracks],
   isequal([media type],audio,1),[Elapsed Time] // [Total Time] ::: [Bitrate (labeled)] [File Type] /([file size]/) ::: rated [Rating]//5 ::: [history] ::: track [PN Position] of [PN Tracks],
   isequal([Media Sub Type],Home Video,1),[Elapsed Time] // [Total Time] ::: [File Type] /([file size]/) ::: rated [Rating]//5 ::: [history] ::: track [PN Position] of [PN Tracks]
  )


Stopped (Title):
Code: [Select]
Media Center removeright([mc.version],11)  :::  formatdate(now(),dddd dd MMMM yyyy)  :::  formatdate(now(),HH:mm)
Stopped (Status):
Code: [Select]
ifelse(
       isequal([media type],image,1),[filename (name)] /([file size]/) ::: [dimensions] ::: [date] ::: rated [Score]//5 Picture [PN Position] of [PN Tracks],
       isequal([media type],audio,1),[name] by [artist] ::: [Bitrate (labeled)] [File Type] /([file size]/) ::: rated [Rating]//5 ::: [history] ::: track [PN Position] of [PN Tracks],
       isequal([Media Sub Type],Home Video,1),[Elapsed Time] // [Total Time] ::: [File Type] /([file size]/) ::: rated [Rating]//5 ::: [history] ::: track [PN Position] of [PN Tracks]
      )

blgentry

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8009
Re: MC installed version/build number in display area
« Reply #8 on: July 20, 2017, 12:23:32 pm »

I started a thread about this a while back with my Standard View display expressions.

https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=103049.0

Display expressions were one of the very first things I tried to customize when I downloaded the trial of MC several years ago.  I changed the display expression to something rather simple at that time and was *thrilled* that I could do it so easily and make it as customized as I wanted.

After 5 weeks with MC, I knew I could never go back to anything else I had tried.  Display expressions were my very first taste of that...

Brian.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up