INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Optimal Volume mode for AudioQuest DragonFly v1.2?  (Read 3006 times)

ViperGeek

Optimal Volume mode for AudioQuest DragonFly v1.2?
« on: August 17, 2017, 11:03:34 am »

I was directed to a rather old thread ( https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php/topic,94740.0.html ) from the wiki, but figured I'd start a new topic in the v23 forum instead.

I've been using a Grace Design m9XX and m920 with Media Center for Windows for quite a while.  Each DAC/amp has physical external volume controls, so I've had MC's Volume mode set to "Disabled" for several major versions.  Today (long story), I blew the dust off my old AudioQuest DragonFly v1.2 and decided to use it with MC 23 for the first time.  As soon as I started playing my first track ... at 100% volume ... I realized I probably had a setting wrong.  This started my discovery into the "new" volume settings we now have.

In the old days (MC20? MC 21?  MC 22?), I vaguely recall within the Audio -> Audio Device -> Device settings... we had an option to pick which volume control device to use for a given Audio Device.  I'd usually pick the AudioQuest DragonFly to control the ... AudioQuest DragonFly [WASAPI] volume.  However, in MC 23, the settings are a little different.  They are now a global option under Audio with the following options:

* Application Volume
* Internal Volume
* System Volume
* Disabled Volume