INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Sorting artists query  (Read 1267 times)

Bob007

• Recent member
  • nothing more to say...
Sorting artists query
« on: June 30, 2003, 10:08:50 am »

Hi -- I'm new to Media Center 9 -- giving it a go as the software of choice for a new iPod.

A question -- is it possible to change the way MC sorts artists ? I'd like artists prefixed with 'The' to be sorted by the first letter of the word following 'The' i.e. 'The Beatles' to filed under 'B', 'The Clash' under 'C' etc etc much like the iPod does following its firmware update.

I can do it by renaming my artists to reverse order (i.e. 'Clash, The') but I'd prefer something more tidier.

Thanks...B.

Doof

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Farm Animal Stupid
Re: Sorting artists query
« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2003, 10:14:27 am »

No, there isn't. I wish there was, myself.

But there is a workaround...

Create a new database field called "ArtistSort" or something, and then copy all of your Artist names into there, either without the "The" or with it reversed. I think KingSparta wrote a plugin that can automatically reverse it for you in the Artist field. So if you used the Copy Fields tool to copy Artist to ArtistSort, then used KingSparta's plugin to move The to the end, then use the Copy Fields tool again to swap Artist and ArtistSort, you'd wind up with:

Artist : The Clash
ArtistSort : Clash, The

THEN, you can just specify in the View Scheme properties to sort by ArtistSort instead of Artist, but only actually display Artist.

I think that will work. Unfortunately, it's not automatic, since you'd have to do this for every new file you add to your library.

jleerigby

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2003, 01:47:05 pm »