INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Idpi psu  (Read 1304 times)

Bohemian

• World Citizen
Idpi psu
« on: January 22, 2018, 10:37:50 am »

Hi, total newbie so this is probably a crazy question:
I bought the Idpi fully-baked and it came with USA psu, but I am in UK.  Deanna suggested I may need to buy a UK psu, but as the supplied psu is 100-240v input, could I plug it into a simple travel adapter for UK sockets?

That's before I get to the Linux!

Thanks for advice.

Chris

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Idpi psu
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2018, 11:07:25 am »

Yes.  A power adaptor would work.

Bohemian

• World Citizen
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2018, 11:09:04 am »

Thanks so very much.

Be prepared for more stupid questions coming your way!  I have no idea of Linuxspeak so that will probably be my next problem.

astromo

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2018, 04:56:17 pm »

Hi, total newbie so this is probably a crazy question:
I bought the Idpi fully-baked and it came with USA psu, but I am in UK.  Deanna suggested I may need to buy a UK psu, but as the supplied psu is 100-240v input, could I plug it into a simple travel adapter for UK sockets?

That's before I get to the Linux!

Thanks for advice.

Chris

You shouldn't need to worry about Linux. The Id is a point and shoot kind of deal.

The most difficult "Linuxie" thing you might have to negotiate is some aspects of the folder structure, if you need to point the Id to a specific location to pick up media files. But that's more because it will look a little different from what you're probably used to. I found it reasonably self guiding without needing outside help. Otherwise, the simple menu that provides admin functions is pretty straight forward.