INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Volume Leveling + Adaptive Volume not working as intended?  (Read 967 times)

k.e.

• Recent member

Hi,

I have a HD Studio Master than I want downsized to 16 bit and resampled to 44,1/48 kHz for portable use.

However, I noticed by analyzing the tracks that all of them have a True Peak Level higher than 0. A typical problem of loudness mastering...

So my idea was to use the library tool Convert (to ALAC). Options: 16 Bit.
DSP Enabled:
Output Format changed to 44,100 Hz or 48,000 Hz depending on the Input.
Volume Leveling applied, but that would pull the volume down by a whopping 14,3 dB, which is way too much.
So I also check Adaptive Volume which calculates the folder's/ playlist's/ album's TPL and pulls it all back to 0.
So theoretically the converted files should never overshoot the TPL above 0, all be handled as a group and only the loudest track reach 0 on the TPL.

But it's not working like that.
So from the HD Studio Master all tracks have a TPL of at least 0.1 with the loudest reaching 0.5.
After conversion most of them are around -2 to -3 and the loudest (which wasn't the loudest before) reaching 0.7. That doesn't make sense. I want the whole album consistently pulled down by 0.5 or 0.6 dB to avoid distortion. Nothing else.

What am I doing wrong? Or how do I adjust a manual DSP setting to lower the volume by a given number?

RD James

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Volume Leveling + Adaptive Volume not working as intended?
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2018, 06:47:50 pm »

I think it is "working as intended" but only because all of the changes made to improve the Volume Leveling + Adaptive Volume combination on playback did not make it over to file conversion for some reason, and AV still operates in the 'adaptive' mode rather than the 'fixed' mode.