INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: CD Boxed Set Tracks Stuck Together When Ripping  (Read 422 times)

eweedhome

• Recent member
CD Boxed Set Tracks Stuck Together When Ripping
« on: July 09, 2018, 05:48:55 pm »

I'm pretty new to this, though have ripping 100 or so CDs into the Library without a problem (that I can tell).

BUT - How about this:  I have a pretty new classical boxed set of Charles Munch conducting a bunch of music on 86 CDs, published by RCA/Sony.  I ripped 8 CDs out of the box.

The sorting system in the library bunched 7 of the CDs together, and put all of their tracks in order by number.  So the 1st track of each CD is listed first, one after the other, then all of the Track 2s are listed, then all of the Track 3s, etc., to the end.  As if it is all one giant album, out of which you listen to all of the 1st tracks, then all of the 2nd tracks, etc.  (Which would come out REALLY weird.)

I sort of "fixed" the problem by creating some playlists into which I could reassemble each of the individual albums.  And I guess that's okay.  But I have a suspicion that there is some simpler way to fix this problem.  I am a real novice here, and if the solution involves tags, I'd love it if somebody would explain to me what a "tag" is.  I've looked around the Forum and the Wiki, and "tags" ain't simple to figure out if you're new to this (at least not for me).

I should add that I've ripped individual CDs from various other boxed sets and never had this happen.  And even with this boxed set, 1 of the discs listed itself separately.  Why?  Beats me.

Many thanks,

Earl

~OHM~

• Citizen of the Universe
  • "I Don't Play The Music The Music Plays Me"
Re: CD Boxed Set Tracks Stuck Together When Ripping
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2018, 06:03:42 pm »

Earl Earl Earl it's all about the tags.....have a look here, find info on tagging...