INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: O/T - Using more available RAM  (Read 1458 times)

LisaRCT

O/T - Using more available RAM
« on: June 05, 2003, 08:32:18 am »

OK, I built me a system last year and went for broke installing 1.5GB of DDR-2700 RAM so as to avoid any memory shortage and hopefully boost performance.

Perhaps I am misunderstanding something (I am all self-taught, mostly through the school of hard knocks and crashed systems), but I am not happy that I always have about 1.oGB of RAM available.

Seems to me that while it is good to have plenty of RAM in reserve, there is alot of RAM in my system that is not being put to work. To me this is an opportunity for improved performance as well as CASH sitting there doing nothing!

Am I off-track here, or is there some way to make Windows XP use more of my available RAM? And will that improve performance as I expect? I assume this is somewhat related to 'pagefiles' and 'virtual memory'?

Any comments, ideas, web-links, suggestions?
. . . I am not proud, I will take compliments    :D
. . . . . . . . Gifts too   ;D

Media Center Registered 9.0.180 -- C:\Program Files\J River\Media Center\

Microsoft Windows XP  Workstation 5.1 Service Pack 1 (Build 2600)
AMD Athlon 1732 MHz MMX / Memory: Total - 1572 MB, Free - 1053 MB

Internet Explorer: 6.0.2800.1106 / ComCtl32.dll: 5.82 (xpsp1.020828-1920) / Shlwapi.dll: 6.00.2800.1106 (xpsp1.020828-1920) / Shell32.dll: 6.00.2800.1145 (xpsp2.021108-1929) / wnaspi32.dll: N/A
Ripping /   Drive N:   Copy mode:ModeSecure   CD Type:Auto   Read speed:Max
 Drive O:   Copy mode:ModeSecure   CD Type:Auto   Read speed:Max
 Drive P:   Copy mode:ModeBurstBigBuffer   CD Type:Auto   Read speed:Max
 Digital playback: Yes /  Use YADB: Yes /  Get cover art: Yes /  Calc replay gain: No /  Copy volume: 32767
 Eject after ripping: Yes /  Play sound after ripping: No