INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: playback of flac files not pristine  (Read 2698 times)

Noteworthy

• Recent member
playback of flac files not pristine
« on: December 12, 2018, 11:57:49 am »

Newbie here. Evaluating MC24

I have probably not set up the playback correctly because the playback of my flac files is unimpressive and dull.
Playback is routed wirelessly over my home network to an OPPP BD105D connected to my Thule amplifier.
Audio files are located in a cloud directory.

The same files when played from a usb device connected directly to the OPPO and played through the OPPO's interface (without MC24) sound rich and vibrant.

Do I need to configure something in MC24 to obtain the original rich sound? Tried the equaliser but it appears to have no effect.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

Many thanks

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: playback of flac files not pristine
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2018, 01:10:08 pm »

If you're using DLNA, check the server side settings for conversion.  It's under Media Network.

Noteworthy

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2018, 02:22:09 pm »

Thank you JimH.

As I am a newbie, what you said is a bit cryptic for me.
What's the conversion you're referring to please?

Many thanks

swiv3d

« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2018, 02:23:52 pm »

Having seen your other post I would suggest that you right mouse click on the oppo heading in playing now - go down to the bottom of the popup menu and select associate with server and choose the audiophile option -not generic.

Noteworthy

• Recent member
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2018, 02:39:25 pm »

Many thanks swiv3d.

Against "Associate with DLNA Server" there is a greyed out "Only one server, used by default".

Noteworthy

• Recent member
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2018, 02:58:32 pm »

Thanks.