INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Some observations regarding audio quality  (Read 680 times)

ssnk

Some observations regarding audio quality
« on: January 02, 2019, 10:02:54 pm »

Hello Everyone,

I am new to MC and to this forum.
I am using MC 24 on my MacBook Pro, to output bitperfect audio (mostly ripped from CD, and some from HDTracks) via USB to my DAC (Benchmark DAC3).

(I had followed the instructions to setup MC on MACOS for bitperfect playback. EXAMPLE: audio > Benchmark DAC2 / Exclusive right to device / No DSP  etc etc)

I recently (Dec 2018) upgraded my MAC OS to the newest version (don't remember the name of OS) and noticed lot more details in the recordings, along with some distortion in higher frequencies (aka listening fatigue).

At first, I wasn't too sure if it was just my mind/ears playing tricks on me, or was there a valid/logical reason for this.
I started to investigate MC settings on my MAC but couldn't see any difference from previous settings (previous to upgrading the OS). I then checked MACOS settings and noticed that 'sound > output' was changed from previous 'Benchmark DAC2' to 'Internal Speakers'. Upon changing it back to 'Benchmark DAC2' the sound returned to previous standards.

I always used to think my previous settings ('sound > output' set to Benchmark....) as very detailed and clear, and had always enjoyed listening my music. But since, now I have heard that additional details/clarity (albeit with distortion), I just can't stop wondering, why MACOS level setting will impact audio feed from MC? And is there any way to get back that clarity, which I now don't have (without the distortion).

I might be missing some setting somewhere I guess.

Can someone help?

Thanks much for your time and support.

blgentry

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Some observations regarding audio quality