INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Scripting challenge  (Read 1209 times)

OlivierPS

• Recent member
Scripting challenge
« on: February 06, 2019, 10:32:33 am »

I’m new to JRiver and enthousiastic about it. I went through all (well, almost all) the documentation and I couldn’t figure out a mean to do something quite sophisticated that I wish could be possible. Hence the “scripting challenge”.

I have a rather large collection of music (34'000 files/tracks), mainly classical but not only. I have different smartlists based on `Keywords` that I assigned to the tracks : Ballad, Light, Concentration, Morning, etc.

It’s not too difficult to select “the 500 Light tracks least recently played”. Now, I would like to make a semi-random order of this selection. I call it “semi-random” because I would like to
  • randomly select
    • classical albums (GENRE = barock, symphony, chamber, etc.)
    • other tracks (GENRE = jazz, soundtrack, etc.)
  • listen consecutively to the tracks of the randomly chosen classical works
    • but have the works intermixed with the other randomly chosen tracks

In the end, I wish I had a playlist that looks like this, for example, each entry being a track/file :

> * barock work Z, movement 1
> * barock work Z, movement 2
> * barock work Z, movement 3
> * jazz piece M
> * soundtrack J
> * piano sonata W, movement 1
> * piano sonata W, movement 2
> * piano sonata W, movement 3
> * piano sonata W, movement 4
> * soundtrack H
> * string quartett Y, movement 1
> * string quartett Y, movement 2
> * string quartett Y, movement 3
> * string quartett Y, movement 4
> * jazz piece A
> * …

You get the idea. (A classical work is a sequence of tracks under the same ALBUM name, which is the title of the work.)