INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Media center Server crashing  (Read 2458 times)

chriswatson

• Junior Woodchuck
Media center Server crashing
« on: February 09, 2019, 10:14:13 am »

*I tried reading the forum for several minutes to look for similar issues. Didn't find anything relevant*

I have a Media Center server running on Windows 7 (currently 24.0.75). I have been using it for many years and it's been stable. Recently it has begun randomly crashing. I have tried both the 64 and 32 bit version. uninstalling, rebooting ect.

It seems as if it is crashing (the icon disappears and I may or may not get a popup saying media center is closing.
I have the following configuration:
* J river main server running on windows 7 on a rack
* IdPi running as an output to amplifier
* Marantz SR8012 11.2 Channel A/V Receiver, networked using HEOS and DLNA
* Samsung Smart TV
* Sony Smart TV
* Vizio Smart TV
* Whitebear with logitech server
* Amazon Echos

Possible points of interest:

1) The main server crashes within a few hours
2) the slave j Rivers don't ever seem to crash
3) It *seems* like when I attached the Marantz HEOS amp and the Samsung (happened at the same time) the random crashing began. I don't actually do a lot of streaming to that amp from J River and it will crash whether or not I am using the marantz for playback

Any ideas?

I'm going to pull whitebear and logitech off the machine as I don't need it anymore, however those two have been running with no J River issues for years. The only new thing I can think of is the Marantz HEOS showing up on my local network.

Thanks!

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Media center Server crashing
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2019, 10:24:07 am »

FYI, we switched from J River to JRiver a few years ago because it is more search friendly.