INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mkv sound quality vs bluray  (Read 589 times)

Ohioratrodder

Mkv sound quality vs bluray
« on: July 23, 2019, 11:02:43 am »

I have been using jriver for a few years but my surround sound from 1:1 blu ray rips have never sounded even close to as good as watching the blu ray on dedicated player or ps3/ps4. I have denon x4300 and have tried swapping inputs from my htpc to other ones with same results. I am assuming my setting are not correct in jriver and would like help setting it correctly.
Thanks

tij

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: Mkv sound quality vs bluray
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2019, 11:31:03 am »

using bitstreaming?
HTPC: Win11 Pro, MC: latest 31(64b), NV Driver: v425.31, CPU: i9-12900K, 32GB RAM, GeForce: 2080ti
Screen: LG 2016 E6
NAS: FreeNAS 11.1, SuperMicro SSG-5048R-E1CR36L, E5-1620v4, 64GB ECC RAM, 18xUltrastar He12-SAS3 drives, 2x240GB SSD (OS)

wer

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Mkv sound quality vs bluray
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2019, 12:38:54 pm »

There are many things that could account for this, and you provide very little info about what you're actually doing.  Start by picking a single reference bluray disc and analyzing/documenting exactly what you're doing.

First, as tij questions, are you bitstreaming the audio in JRiver?  If you are, MC does not alter the audio from the file.  Conversion to PCM does not make the sound better or worse; the PCM sound is identical to the sound decoded by your DENON, but converting to PCM opens the door to JRiver or the Denon modifying the sound differently.