INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Automatically creating folders  (Read 3250 times)

David Sydney

• Galactic Citizen
Automatically creating folders
« on: July 26, 2019, 05:54:07 pm »

Thanks for your efforts I have been using JRiver for 3 years now.. time flies.

One of the only reasons I keep itunes on my installation is so I can drag drop music file onto it and it automatically creates folders for artist and album and copies files into the folders while adding it to the library index. My itunes library and JRiver HD library are under the same folder tree, so as soon as JRiver starts it sees these additions and add them to it's library file.

iTunes does not do a great job of it because I would to build album folders as year - album not just album, and it won't recognise lossless or transfer cover art files, but it is more elegant than trying to use "rename, move, copy" in JRiver.

If you are trying to win over iTunes users - I think this would be required?
Dave
------
Linux Manjaro 23 / Windows 10 Pro | i7 14700K Gigabyte Z790 UD AX | JRMark 10253 | Realtek Integrated HDAudio SPDIF | PC Sound - Yamaha TSS-15 5.1 DAC (will be sad when capacitors die!)| Real Sound - DLNA Network to Yamaha RX-V777 Receiver Living Room + Deck | DLNA to Paired Yamaha WiFi WX-010 MusicCast Speakers to Outside Areas

wer

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Attracting iTunes Users
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2019, 07:39:26 pm »

This "feature" to which you refer always annoyed me when I used iTunes.  A lot of people think your media software should not go about reorganizing your filesystem without being told.  So I wouldn't think it's required, but everyone likes different things.

Apple is doing a fair bit of the work of getting users to switch by slowly deprecating and disabling iTunes, don't you think?  It can't manage apps anymore and the Mac version is being killed off entirely.