INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: The road to recovery ... Help needed  (Read 1044 times)

AZ_JazzyJ

• Recent member
  • Is there anything cooler than baseball?
The road to recovery ... Help needed
« on: May 11, 2003, 07:43:04 am »

"Hello, my name is Jeff and I have a problem."

I feel as though I need to utter that phrase since everyone tells me that is the first step in admitting you have a problem.  I have been using Media Center for nearly 2 months now and in that time I have learned some very disturbing things about myself.  When given a tool as powerful as Media Center, I will ignore all recommendations to "wade in" and see how the water is.  Instead, I am more of a "don't look at the depth markers and dive head first yelling 'Cannonball!'" kind of guy.  Within the first three or four days after installing the software, I had dredged through stereo cabinets, kids rooms, friends houses, cars, attics, and anywhere else I could think of to gather every CD I could find.  Then, in the middle of the night with only the glow of the CD Burner power light I began ripping everything on the planet slowly making my way through a stack of CDs that resembled the Sears Tower in height and mass.  This of course led to the purchase of a new hard drive "But honey, it IS a matter of life or death.  We HAVE to have every song we ever heard at our finger tips."  So after countless hours of doing the CD Shuffle, I finally have all my music in one place.  I thought, "Well that wasn't so bad" but then as I went into Media Center and learned about tags, album art, analyzing music, lyrics I realized I had only touched the surface.  I now find all of my waking hours consumed with finding out all details about each and every song.  I am collecting album art like a crazed Andy Warhol fan, and find myself going nuts if I cannot find an accurate release date or a specific versio