INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Export to XML  (Read 4974 times)

nila

Export to XML
« on: April 30, 2003, 07:27:22 pm »

Hey :)
Just some questions about this feature.

I'm just learning XML now so I'm pretty new to it so forgive me if I am chatting rubbish.

With the XML method in MC, how come it exports all fields to xml fields called: field with a name attribute?
Why doesn't it just export them all to xml fields with the name of the field being the name of the field rather than to 'field' with the name as an attribute?

From what I've learnt so far, I can use css pretty easily to specify how to make the XML page look but I cant do this with the version of XML exported by MC as I cant specify how each field looks as each field is just called field and the css wont differentiate between them based on an attribute?

• Why does MC export all fields to a field called 'field' with the name as an attribute instead of using it as the name of the field?
  • Is it possible to use CSS to design how this xml page appears the way it is currently with all fields being called simply field?
  • Couldn't we have an option on export to allow us to specify which way we'd prefer the XML to be written?
  • Also, couldn't we have an option on export to specify which fields we'd like exported and in which order?

sraymond

Re: Export to XML
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2003, 08:59:42 pm »

Nila,

I think your point makes a lot of sense.  I use XMLSpy to work with XML content and it's got a nice "Stylesheet Designer" that works off of an XML Schema.  The problem with MC's XML Export is that it only creates a document with three elements:  MPL (the root), Item, and Field.  That doesn't let me do much.