INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Audiolab M-Dac +Newbie Probs  (Read 1315 times)

sparkydog57

Audiolab M-Dac +Newbie Probs
« on: September 29, 2019, 07:30:53 pm »

Hi ive just purchased a Audiolab M-Dac+,ive set it up with JRiver on a Win7 partition, and have it set up with Foobar on a Win 8.1 partition to avoid any clash, im brand new to all this and should have done more research to begin with, the problem is there is absolutely no difference in the sound playing from my laptop via headphone socket to tape input on old Audiolab 8000a amplifier,and USB from laptop to M-Dac then RCA to CD input of 8000a, ive done it this way so i can quickly make the laptop realtec the default or the Audiolab USB out to M-Dac the default and then just using the input switch on the 8000a to toggle between both inputs,now ive played some DSD files(the first time ive heard these hi res files and im impressed, the files im playing are MP3 320kbps and CDs and as i say no difference in sound at all except in volume, originally i read that a good Dac just provides a less noisy sound, then i read the M-Dac+ reviews on amazon and people were amazed at how their CDs and MP3s sounded so much better and they were hearing things they had never heard before from the same as mine MP3 320kbps and CDs, so i figured that the Dac must resample the music (sorry if thats the wrong term i am a Newbie) also only one reviewer said he could hear no difference, his moniker was audiophile btw, the rest were over the moon, also they advertise on the box compatible with ipods and ipads, but surely they would be playing MP3s as well, my problem is i dont know if its faulty or not and i only have six days to return it, id appreciate any replies Thanks Phil...

goatherder

• Galactic Citizen
Re: Audiolab M-Dac +Newbie Probs
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2019, 04:38:09 pm »