INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: New to JRiver - customizing Playlist Views  (Read 2602 times)

DmitryB

• World Citizen
New to JRiver - customizing Playlist Views
« on: October 28, 2019, 05:11:58 pm »

Hello everyone. I am new to JRiver (all of 3 days) and this is my story/question.

I am moving from using iTunes exclusively for a decade or two and wanted to use a media management program that could coldly play audio formats iTunes for some bizarre reason has not seen fit to make compatible after all these years. (Is FLAC really still controversial??)

In any case, as a listener of primarily classical music I've been keeping my iTunes library organized a certain way and would like to keep the essence of that design going with JRiver: my library was built almost entirely with Folders and Subfolders and Playlists. So a main folder for all the composers, let's say, Mozart then subfolder for Chamber or Opera and then subfolder for String Quartets or Don Giovanni and then a Playlist for the specific ensemble or conductor, etc. The Playlist may contain multiple albums  because many musicians recorded the same piece of music multiple times and I'd like to have all the versions in one place.

I can see this is something that can be recreated using Groups and Playlists in JRiver, so that's great. But a few questions for people who have been using JRiver longer than 3 days:

1) Is there another way classical listeners use to arrange their classical collections? (I prefer to do things manually, so no Smartlists or auto-import because I have found in the past things getting past me and then forgotten.)

2) I am finding that the Groups that contain sub-Groups and Playlists constantly close, so I have to reopen each level over and over again. Is there to just keep the Groups open all the time?