INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: "not using JRiver audio engine" when playing files to ultra rendu  (Read 2601 times)

classicsguy

I'm new to JRiver and I'm trying to set up an ultra rendu from Sonore as a DLNA renderer to my DAC.  The rendu is on my LAN as well as a NAS with music files on it. 

I have not installed any DLNA servers on this NAS in hopes that JRiver Media server would do this job. 

At this time MC sees the rendu as it shows up in the list of players.  However, when MC plays a music file there is no sound and  I get the message "not using JRiver audio engine" when I hover over the settings button in the upper right.

Also under tools>options I have the message "Configure audio using Options> Media Networks> Add or configure DLNA servers".  I've also selected "Use Media Network to share this library and enable DLNA" and have chosen "Generic DLNA". 

Can anyone tell me what else I need to do to get jriver to turn on the audio engine? If it means anything I am using a Mac as the control point.  Thanks

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: "not using JRiver audio engine" when playing files to ultra rendu
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2019, 01:50:33 am »

I assume you've been here:
https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/DLNA

When you use MC's DLNA Server to play to a DLNA Renderer, it is similar to using a file server.  The Renderer is doing the playback, so MC's audio engine isn't a factor.

Try other types of files.  The device may not play all formats.

Make sure the device's volume is not muted.

MikeyFresh

• World Citizen
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2019, 11:56:39 am »

In Sonore's Sonicorbiter interface, full DAC volume is verified by means of:

Apps -> DAC Diagnostics -> USB Output -> Set DAC to MAX volume