INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Where do the album covers come from?  (Read 750 times)

Signalpath

Where do the album covers come from?
« on: December 19, 2019, 06:29:33 pm »

I'm new to streaming -- newbie trying to learn.

Some of the higher-end home audio streaming boxes have a big color OLED that displays record covers (see photo).

Where does the record cover artwork come from? Images are native to the h/w streaming box? Or images real-time captured from an online source?

tks.

RoderickGI

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: Where do the album covers come from?
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2019, 08:05:00 pm »

They are most likely coming from inside the audio files being streamed to it. Even if the streamer is actually a DLNA Renderer, the DLNA standard allows handling of Cover Art.

But isn't this really a question for the streaming box provider?
What specific version of MC you are running:MC27.0.27 @ Oct 27, 2020 and updating regularly Jim!                        MC Release Notes: https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Release_Notes
What OS(s) and Version you are running:     Windows 10 Pro 64bit Version 2004 (OS Build 19041.572).
The JRMark score of the PC with an issue:    JRMark (version 26.0.52 64 bit): 3419
Important relevant info about your environment:     
  Using the HTPC as a MC Server & a Workstation as a MC Client plus some DLNA clients.
  Running JRiver for Android, JRemote2, Gizmo, & MO 4Media on a Sony Xperia XZ Premium Android 9.
  Playing video out to a Sony 65" TV connected via HDMI, playing digital audio out via motherboard sound card, PCIe TV tuner

Signalpath

« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2019, 08:16:49 pm »

"isn't this really a question for the streaming box provider?"

Maybe.

I guess I could re-phrase my question: how many different ways can a streaming box capture album cover art data?