INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down

Author Topic: Distortion and static  (Read 8459 times)

renorc

Distortion and static
« on: January 24, 2020, 09:08:18 pm »

I was using MC21 on a Win 7 computer for years, then finally upgraded to a new Win 10 computer.  I upgraded my license to MC26, loaded my library, and all songs play completely distorted and garbled. I'm using the Realtek audio device just as I do for Tidal, and have tried the other options but everything comes out as loud static. Nothing works, and I'm out of ideas.  I searched the forum but didn't see any similar posts.  Any help at all is much appreciated. Thanks

fitbrit

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe

How are you connected to your sound device? Is it a digital output to a DAC.
If I suspect correctly, I have some experience with this, and I have reported this before. However, it was deemed to be a niche case, and could not be reproduced. I know of over two hundred systems that can have this issue, but that is a drop in the bucket compared to the total number of MC installations. Here's a fix for it that will work even if it is not officially addressed.

What we're doing here is replacing the terrible Realtek drivers with the default Microsoft ones, which do a better job in every way. The latest round of Realtek drivers actually eliminate some of the sample rates that the hardware is actually capable of playing. These drivers work fine in other software, but produce a distorted mess in MC, for some reason.
Please ignore the below instruction if your issue is different from what I have assumed it to be. Good luck!
Go to Device Manager
Then to Sound devices
There you select the Realtek driver and right click to Update Driver.
At this point select Browse my Computer for Driver software
On the next screen, choose the Let me pick... option
Then choose the High Definition Audio Device option.