INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Handheld device that will sync play count  (Read 3042 times)

Ziba

• Recent member
Handheld device that will sync play count
« on: February 04, 2020, 09:15:14 pm »

Hi,

I'm looking at replacing my ipod classic. I've been tracking play counts since 2007 and I would love to keep doing so. I tried searching, but couldn't find out if there's an android-based device that will sync play count stats to and from Media Center? So far I've tried a FiiO M6 and HIDIZS AP80 to no avail. I'm also hoping to find a device with external storage capacity of 1tb+ (2 micro SD slots would be a huge plus). I'm currently using Windows 7 and 10 along with MC 26.

Thanks!

RoderickGI

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: Handheld device that will sync play count
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2020, 09:48:33 pm »

I sync to my Sony Xperia XZ Premium phone running Android 9. When I connect it, there is a setting in Handheld Options to "Get plays stats from handheld on connect". That setting doesn't show if you are syncing to a HDD device, and I think the iPod Classic acted like a HDD, in that it connected as a drive. But I think it had some special coding in MC to get play statistics.

Anyway, when you connect the FiiO M6 or HIDIZS AP80, are you sure that the "Get plays stats from handheld on connect" is selected? I'm not sure, but I think it is off by default.

I'm afraid I can't suggest a device with 1TB of storage, internal or external. Well, not without changing SD cards. Phones are getting better and better at audio, even better with an external DAC. My phone has a 200Gb SDXC card in its one and only slot, but that serves my needs.
What specific version of MC you are running:MC27.0.27 @ Oct 27, 2020 and updating regularly Jim!                        MC Release Notes: https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Release_Notes