INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Shuffling Classical Music  (Read 1693 times)

reichsa

Shuffling Classical Music
« on: February 26, 2020, 08:41:43 am »

I'm new to JRiver and seek the assistance of experienced users. I have an extensive classical music library that has been organized over the years in iTunes. I'm drawn to JRiver because of its ability to allow me to tag orchestra, conductor, soloist, etc. But what I'm really looking for in a media player is the ability to shuffle classical music by work. Recent additions to iTunes allows me to organize my music by work and then put the individual tracks of movements as subordinate to the work. So when I shuffle by song in Apple Music it plays through an entire symphony (all movements) before shuffling to the next classical work. The problem happens when I stream that library onto my iPad. Shuffle in Apple Music in the iPad only shuffles by track, so it shuffles from movement to movement across works rather than play through an entire work, from first movement to last, before shuffling to the next one. Apple support claims that iOS does not have the same capabilities as OS.

Is it possible to set up JRiver to shuffle in this manner and does the JRemote approve user the flexibility to set rules on how it shuffles a music library? And if so, how does one do set shuffle to operate in this manner.

I appreciate any help that people have to offer. Thanks.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Shuffling Classical Music
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2020, 09:03:21 am »

HaWi

« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2020, 09:09:50 am »

Linked Tracks might work:

https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=90543.0
Was just typing this: