INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Codecs for JRiver for AC3, TrueHD, etc.  (Read 4666 times)

Mitchco

• MC Beta Team
  • World Citizen
Codecs for JRiver for AC3, TrueHD, etc.
« on: April 24, 2020, 02:10:42 pm »

I am a multichannel noob coming from too many years as a stereo geek, so not sure if this is the right forum or if it is even possible...

I see that https://codecguide.com/index.html (scroll down to Features) has DirectShow filters for audio/video and seems to be able to decode AC3, TrueHD, etc.

Since JRiver can use DirectShow filters (yes?) could these be installed and JRiver properly decode multichannel sound like AC3 and TrueHD?

Kind regards,
Mitch

wer

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Codecs for JRiver for AC3, TrueHD, etc.
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2020, 02:26:48 pm »

You don't need to install extra codecs for that.  JRiver works out of the box.

Things work best if you set the JRiver Video Mode to Red October Standard, or Red October HQ.

See here:
https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Red_October

JRiver can even play BluRay discs if you download and install MakeMKV and make sure MakeMKV's "Integration" options are all checked.

Mitchco

• MC Beta Team
  • World Citizen
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2020, 02:39:10 pm »

Thanks, I saw that. But I did not see if it decodes Dolby Digital or TrueHD audio for multichannel surround? And what about Atmos? Maybe I am missing something?

wer

« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2020, 02:41:33 pm »

Atmos no, but you can bitstream it so your receiver can decode it.  Everything else it can decode natively.

wer

« Reply #4 on: April 24, 2020, 02:51:06 pm »