INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Does MC 26 do rip verification and/or jitter correction while ripping?  (Read 710 times)

masterK

• Recent member

Hello, I'm just getting started with MC. I've been using Media Monkey for many years, and I'm finally turning my CD collection into hi-res audio files. Media Monkey has some limitations in this regard, so I've decided to move on. A couple things I'm used to with MM is it verifies ripped tracks against the accuraterip.com database, and it does jitter correction during ripping. They both seem like good ideas.

As I was ripping my way through my CD collection, MM would report that it not verify tracks and/or there were jitter errors on certain tracks quite a few CDs, most of them in pristine condition. I could try several times and repeat the error/failure. This had me scratching my head. I could listen through the files, and they seemed fine. It's unlikely that I'm the first person to make flac files out of some of these 30 year old CDs, and it was usually only a couple tracks out of the whole CD.

Anyway, I've redone rips of most of the ones I was getting errors/failures on with MC, and there hasn't been a single issue. I'm hoping that means that MM was just having issues, but I can't find settings in MC related to rip verification or jitter correction. Maybe these things are unnecessary?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts, comments, or philosphical waxing about my question.

timwtheov

• Galactic Citizen

MC has it's own "secure" ripping function, but it's not tied in any way to Accurip; and there's nothing about jitter correction, at least that I know of.

If you want Accurip results, you'd probably want to use either EAC, or better (though not free), dbPoweramp. I use the latter myself.